Connect with us
The awards ceremony was organized in collaboration with the AEF (Africa Energy Forum)


Winners of AFSIA Solar Awards 2021 announced in London

The winners of the AFSIA Solar Awards 2021 were unveiled during the hybrid event that took place at the London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square.

The 2nd edition of the AFSIA Solar Awards 2021, organized once again in partnership with the Africa Energy Forum, culminated in a grand show live and online on November 16th. During this ceremony, the winners of the 15 categories were unveiled and celebrated.

More than 190 entries were submitted across the different categories from all over the continent over the past few months. The Jury, composed of some of the leading experts in solar energy in Africa, have carefully reviewed and evaluated each entry to identify the most deserving companies and individuals to be awarded the grand prize during the awards ceremony.

Among the 15 categories in competition this year, the most disputed titles included “C&I Project of the year”, “Solar innovation/technology of the year”, and “DFI & Alternative Financing” which is reflective of the increased activity of those segments of the African solar industry. This highlights the very positive trend of the growth of the industry across the continent.


Utility Scale Project of
the year

InfraCo AfricaFor the 60MWac Salima Solar project in Malawi
Commercial & Industrial Solar Project
of the year

EM-ONE Energy SolutionsFor its 1.52MWp / 2.28MWh system at the Federal ministry Mabushi office complex in Abuja, Nigeria
Mini Grid Project of the year

ENGIE EquatorialFor the 600kWp Lolwe Island mini-grid project in Uganda
Solar Home System
Company of the year

Ignite PowerFor connecting households in Rwanda for under $1 a month
Residential Project of
the year

Jubaili BrosFor the 20kW/60kWh solar PV plus storage facility installation in Accra, Ghana
African Solar company of the year

SolarAfrica Energy (Pty) LtdFor being the first to successfully market solar PPAs to residential and commercial power users in South Africa back in 2011 and having financed 55MW of projects to date
African Solar
SME/Entrepreneur of
the year

Kudirat SaliuFrom the Solar Sister Entrepreneurs Program in Nigeria focusing on distributing solar home systems solutions in off-grid areas
Financial Advisor of the year

Synergy Consulting Infrastructure and Financial Advisory ServicesFor several projects including the Dondo Solar PV project, the 1st competitively tendered solar IPP in Mozambique and the 100MW solar IPP in Botswana
Legal Advisor of the

Wairimu & Co.For advisory on the $4M investment to a Kenyan mini-grid development
Financing of the year

SunFunderFor the $70M Solar Energy Transformation (SET) Fund
Solar Innovation for the year

Genius WatterFor the Genius RO – solar-powered reverse osmosis desalination technolog
Solar Picture of the year

ARESSFor a beautiful picture highlighting solar EPC work taken by the installation team
Solar video of the year

EnaraFor a film shot in the New Valley governorate to showcase the potential and benefits of solar energy in reclaiming desert land in Egypt.
Life-time achievement

Franco Traverso from Genius WatterCo-founder and Chairman of Genius Watter and a pioneer of the photovoltaic sector since 1981.

An exceptional and global platform

The awards ceremony was organized in collaboration with the AEF (Africa Energy Forum) and was conducted online and live in London.

AEF is the marquis event of the African energy industry and has been uniting top public and private sector decision-makers in 1 location for more than 20 years. This year, AEF took place in London from November 15th until 17th.

AFSIA is thrilled to be part of this prestigious event and to reveal the laureates during the hybrid live and online ceremony on the 16th of November with the support global industry leaders such as LONGi, Trina Solar, Jinko Solar and Huawei.

Meet the jury

Applications to the AFSIA Solar Awards were assessed by some of the best experts of the African solar industry. They reviewed every application independently and nominated the outstanding ones in each category.

This year the jury was composed of Demi Edosomwan from TotalEnergies Ventures, Catherine Mukobo from ACERD, Tony Tiyou from Renewables in Africa, Wale Shonibare from AfDB, Ujunwa Ojemeni from the Ministry of Energy & Natural Resources – Lagos State Government, Salma Okonkwo from UBI Group, Wikus Kruger from the Power Futures Lab at the University of Cape Town and Dr. Harald Schützeichel from the Solar Energy Foundation.

1 Comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News



To Top